My First Post of 2024!

Doctor Who Lost in Time: DELETE! DELETE! DELETE!

GIF: The Thirteenth Doctor (Jodie Whittaker) runs and shouts excitedly, “It’s the Kerblam man!” on Doctor Who (BBC).

More thoughts on Doctor Who: Lost in Time:

In addition to the main episodes and long weekend events, Lost in Time has two shorter events during the week. Surf & Turf lasts about a day, and Enlisted lasts almost two days. When the timer was broken, kerblam boxes came too fast, but the event also ended too early. Both recurring events are so repetitive, I could predict when they’d next be scheduled or even what tasks they’d have in order. Some people describe these as “filler events” because they don’t have any cutscenes. This game works through intermittent reinforcement, only granting rewards sporadically.

So, why would anyone play them? you ask. They enjoy and are in the habit of playing the game, or they need to stock up on the rewards before playing more interesting, future episodes and longer events. After the game was recently recalibrated, I finally collected a lot of gems playing the shorter events.

Lost in Time also has a LOT of ads. I used all possible free shortcuts in the game, like automating waypoints and watching ads to double my power. Even the ads glitch and don’t always work. Though I played the video ads, I didn’t actually WATCH them. The advertisers didn’t get their money’s worth from me. I usually read a tab on my phone or computer or a page in a book during the ads. But I hyperfocus and switch tasks, instead of multitasking.

Anyway, I obviously suggest avoiding this game! It’s fun at first, then monotonous, and made my hands and eyes tired. I’m surprised I could play it at all, to be frank. It’s so repetitive, I started to feel like Sisyphus in Greek mythology. I told the development team that instead of a leaderboard, I thought all players should have an equal shot at the rewards.

I also think the upcoming NFT game, Doctor Who: Worlds Apart, which runs on blockchain, sounds like a terrible idea. There are reasons people all around the world use blockchain and crypto, but I don’t want use them or AI writing or art programs.

Hey, speaking of Greek mythology, Percy Jackson on Disney + is great so far.

In 2019 for Book Riot, I reminisced about using the 1990s American Girls computer game to adapt stories unrelated to the AG franchise.