Book Cover Trends and Slight Fanfic Edit

New today on Book Riot:

Maybe I read too much SFF to generalize their covers like this. One of my favorite fantasy cover artists today is Charlie Bowater. She illustrated beautiful covers for An Enchantment of Ravens, Vespertine, and many more. Many other cover artists use a similar style.

A Spoiler and Trigger Warning for Eleanor Oliphant:

If you think it looks like a romcom, because it was discussed like one when it came out, be warned! Eleanor has PTSD and eventually remembers her trauma of surviving the fire in which her mom killed herself and Eleanor’s little sister. I liked the book. Here are some book club questions from BR. But it was initially misleadingly marketed.

Subtle Update to an Old Fanfic:

I originally published my Doctor Who fanfic “The Veil Between the Worlds” on AO3 between September 29, 2022 and October 15, 2022. However, I edited it slightly on January 23, 2024 to fix a potential plot hole. Now that element is more of a MacGuffin, which is OK, I think. The updated version is on AO3 and Wattpad.

Thanks for reading my old and new work!